PDA

View Full Version : Court for speeding (HELP)

themitch89
12-03-2009, 11:59 PM
hey guys,

hopefully i can get some advice/help

So I was driving on the highway tonight and the speed limit is 100km/hr. I was doing abut 150km/hr casue it was night and i felt like i had the highway to my self. Anyways a cop is on top of the bridge and ends up pulling me over and he says he got me doing 154km/hr in a 100 zone.

I was expecting a ticket but i got a court date.

So my question is, what will happen in court?

I mean iam a student and this is my first time i have ever been pulled over by the police before and i dont know what the consequences of this will be.

and lastly does anyone have any tips for when iam in court??

thanks,

Disoblige
12-04-2009, 12:05 AM
Excessive speeding usually means a mandatory court appearance, but technically it should be that case for over 50 kph. I suppose it's up to the cop to make that judgment. Perhaps for you, it appeared careless enough that it would have warranted a mandatory appearance.

Show up to court (I would suggest shirt and tie as well), and tell them that you messed up. Tell them as well that you're also a student and anything true that may help your case (i.e. never had tickets before, working student, etc.).

Chances are you'll get off with a ticket of lower fines/demerits (i.e. speeding over 30 or less, or maybe minor suspension?)

themitch89
12-04-2009, 12:15 AM
k, all i hope for is i dont get a suspension
and i dont want my insurance to sky rocket over some stupid thing like this

Hamann
12-04-2009, 12:24 AM
Honestly just call up POINTTS or Traffic Cops or one of those guys (I've used POINTTS, they def seem like good guys, they tell you flat out what they can do for you and they handle everything)

Not that expensive and it gets it out of your hair.