PDA

View Full Version : Help a working student buy a car!

shawn_boy
12-09-2009, 11:45 PM
Hey guys, ok so i have a budget of around $7000 but i can go up to $7500 but thats pushing it. Im just a part time working, college student so i dont need anything crazy fancy. Heres what im looking for in a car:

1. Sporty looking ( I dont want girls to look at it, and think its my sisters car lol. )
2. quick (as in not slow, but not 400hp fast.)
3. seats 4
4. auto or manual, dont care.
5. Reliable! Im a student with limited funds, i cant have something breaking down all the time.
6. Not really expensive to insure (im a 21 year old male, so im right at the 'wrong' age as far as insurance goes. But i do have a clean record. Not even a parking ticket :D )
7. dont really care if its FWD or RWD. (though of the 2, i like rwd more)
8. decent-good MPG. I dont drive alot, but the less i have to spend on gas the better. But i dont want that to mean i gotta drive a 70hp geo metro lol
9. Comfortable, sometimes i like to go on long drives, so something really comfortable to be in is a plus. (ex. leather, a/c etc...)

Hope this isn't being too picky, im flexible on some things like the leather interior etc..

I appreciate your suggestions guys, thanks in advance

Kloubek
12-09-2009, 11:52 PM
First of all, if your funds are that limited I would advise not to spend it all on your car. Save some for repairs, etc.

So let's say you are down to 6k.

Any time someone wants something sporty (though not all-out "Fast"), and reliable, I always look to Honda. I think a Prelude would fit the bill for you. You could probably find a 97+ model for that price. Maybe an integra? Both have leather as an option. Just watch earlier Prelude auto trannys.... they tend to fail.

sneek
12-09-2009, 11:52 PM
http://autotrader.ca/used_cars_Cars_details/HINTON_Alberta_2003_NISSAN_MAXIMA+_3239013.html?srcid=1590567&source=24&pgno=1&srt=10&CompanyID=&r=calgaryalberta&ad-attributes=photos,,&ad-attributes=photos,,