PDA

View Full Version : Protein Necessary?

Poo
12-18-2009, 01:19 PM
I'm 5'7 and about 160 pounds....I'm not skinny by any means, nor am I overly obese. Problem is, I have some excess fat here and there that I haven't burned off from my teens. I work out regularly...about 3 times a week but I'm not trying to gain much weight, just kind of tone/lean out. I was just curious as to whether or not it would be necessary/a benefit for me to take protein after my workouts? I'm a bit new to the workout thing so any help would be appreciated. Thanks a bunch.

beyond_ban
12-18-2009, 01:23 PM
Protein goes directly to rebuilding the muscles that you have torn during your workout. It is definitely a useful, and in my opinion vital, recovery agent.

I personally love Jay Robb's egg white protein.

http://www.jayrobb.com/jayRobbProtein.asp

wintonyk
12-18-2009, 09:38 PM
As beyond_ban said. Proteins main role in our body is DNA synthesis or in lay term making new tissue. You don't necesarrily need to lift massive weights to gain muscle. But by the sounds of it you want you composition to change from fat to protein (muscle). Whats the easiest way? Build new muscle.

You don't need to eat crazy amounts of protein per day, but 30g post workout will get you body going on recovery. Anything more then that unfortunately can't be processed in a single sitting. I have a reference for that somewhere if anyone likes I just can't seem to find it right now.

rockwolf2001
12-18-2009, 10:17 PM
Originally posted by wintonyk
You don't need to eat crazy amounts of protein per day, but 30g post workout will get you body going on recovery. Anything more then that unfortunately can't be processed in a single sitting.

quick question, does every human max out at 30g, or if you're a bigger/smaller person do you max out at a larger/smaller amount?

Despair*
12-18-2009, 10:57 PM