PDA

View Full Version : Precision Drilling & Roughnecking

themack89
01-14-2010, 04:34 PM
I'm just wondering if anyone is in the industry who can point me in the right direction. I have been calling a handful of drilling companies looking for work but am the most adamant about working for Precision Drilling (been calling them a lot).

I have zero rig experience, as green as they come... What are the odds of getting a job in today's world? Alberta only, got own vehicle and looking for sponsorship for H2S (that's how tight things are).

*Edit.. Also wondering what people find are the biggest differences between Service Rigs and Drilling Rigs? Bottom of the food chain positions..

gretz
01-14-2010, 04:37 PM
If you weren't working in the industry prior, it is going to be f'n hard to find anything right now - even entry level.

KeepItGully
01-14-2010, 04:51 PM
Its going to be hard because lots of applicants already have H2S and first aid. I'd suggest getting those before hand to seriously improve your chances.

themack89
01-14-2010, 04:56 PM
My dad (who works for Halliburton) says this is the busy season, does that help at all?

A|pine
01-14-2010, 05:21 PM
Your dad says it is busy season because we are in Canada.

Winter is always "busy season" because up north in order to get onto drilling leases you need the land to freeze up to get the heavy trucks to the site. This is because the land is pure bush and can be very marshy.

Why are they drilling up north? That is where all the new plays are ie: shale and Oil Sands.

I would say go and get your training done and get your dad to get you a contact. Referrals are usually the best way to get 'in'. Make sure you have your resume on hand as well. Do you have any mechanical aptitude? Like automotives, construction. You should mention what skills you have besides just being green.

spike98
01-14-2010, 05:29 PM