PDA

View Full Version : Car audio system help

relyt92
01-15-2010, 12:33 AM
Hi, this is only an idea at this point but I'm looking into upgrading the audio system in my car. I drive a 2001 Oldsmobile Alero coupe running the stock system. I'm not looking at spending huge amounts of money or getting into the high end stuff, just looking to have better sound and some more bass. I've got no real knowledge in this area, so I was hoping you guys would be able to recommend a decent mid range set up for me.

Thanks in advance.

spike98
01-15-2010, 09:01 AM
Budget?

Do you have a Aftermarket Head Unit already? Or are you wanting to stay with the factory head?

Looking to save space in the trunk?

Want pee your pants loud or symphony quality sound?

Mar
01-15-2010, 09:57 AM
Get a headunit at Wal-Mart for $100 and that should keep you happy for a year or so.

03ozwhip
01-15-2010, 10:33 AM
ive done a system in an alero before very easy to do. my advice would be to go to a pawn shop, cash converters or something and start there. get some knowledge under your belt with some decent used stuff and move up from there.

core_upt
01-15-2010, 10:34 AM
go talk to a shop.... the issue with your car, from what I remember from my car audio sales days, is that your factory unit is connected to a ton of other shit in your car - door chimes, horn and so on. You need a specific bypass module to do it properly.
New head unit and speakers will give you better sound. As would adding a sub, but anything you do is going to cast more than say, on a honda civic.

03ozwhip
01-15-2010, 10:37 AM
^^^wrong. ive done it, no need for anything special and everything works fine. maybe if there was a premium stereo though....

spike98
01-15-2010, 11:03 AM
Originally posted by core_upt