PDA

View Full Version : Bell dilemma

signature7
01-19-2010, 02:14 AM
I am by no means an expert in satellite television so I turn to beyond for help as you've always done pretty well by me :D

Here's my problem. I pay a monthly bill for bell expressvu that is a pretty penny, however, I hardly watch tv.. Most of the television watching is delegated through my little bro and sis. We have 3 receivers. A dual tuner hd pvr, and two standard digital receivers.

When we bought Bell's satellite services they told us we can only have up to 4 receivers and hd makes up 2 so that's why we havae only three in total. Now we have more tvs than receivers which isn't a big deal but I'd like to get another one in if I could, particularly HD if possible as all of our tvs are HD capable.

so I guess I have two questions.

1) Am I able to somehow record shows using my standard digital receiver for myself so I feel as If i get something out of the monthly bill. I have a ps3, xbox 360, or computer at my disposal if anyone knows a way i can turn them into pvrs or if i could even buy something to supplement my current receiver that'd be great!

or Is there such a thing as SD PVR receiver by Bell that I am still able to purchase?

2) is there anyway I could add another receiver to bill without adding another satellite dish to my house?

Any suggestions/help would be greatly appreciated. Keep in mind I am a noob when it comes to electronics or television. Thanks for the patience.

topmade
01-19-2010, 07:55 AM
For #2, you don't need another satellite, but you'll need another line and LNB for every receiver added.

Intent_Fire
01-19-2010, 09:55 AM
I've Installed the same setup quite a few times before.
You already have HD so you have both the 91 & 82 LNB's therefore you will not need another.