PDA

View Full Version : Journeymen welders help me

syritis
01-24-2010, 12:59 AM
I'm a first year machinist (almost second year) but despite every machine shop in calgary having my resume nothing looks very promising.
so a friend of mine said that his buddy needed a laborer to do some temporary welding and other shenanigans. as they picked up a large contract with a very short deadline. i really need the money so i took the job as i also have my 1st year welding training done. i've been welding at home for 3 years now with a little 110volt mig welder and 220volt arc welder, easy stuff. at both of the machine shops i've worked at i've done occasional small welding jobs with various machines and have never had a problem.

now at this temp job the welders i'm using just aren't playing very nice. some times they work great sometimes the filler wire (0.035) will bind up inside the whip. the journeymen call it "shorting out" all i know is it stops the wire from feeding and i'll have to pull 8 feet of wire from the machine to pull the kink out. i asked the journeymen how to stop it from happening. they replied with:
-keep the whip as straight as possible
-keep the wire stick out as long as possible while still maintaining arc
-remove all spatter from the contact tip
-never let the nozzle touch the work piece

it still hasn't stopped it from happening and the foreman is getting pissed at my slow progress (i've got some words to say about his work standards and the horrible fit up he lets everyone else do) but that's a different thread.

I suggested replacing the whip liner and using lubricating pads to clean the filler wire instead of ear plugs. but it seems to have been ignored. does anyone have any other suggestion to stop the filler wire from binding in the whip causing the wire to weld itself to the contact tip?

ps it's a miller power source CP-302 and a miller A24 wire feeder with a bernard whip.

old&slow
01-24-2010, 07:35 AM