PDA

View Full Version : Beginner Question?

SupraEnthusiast
03-08-2010, 11:32 AM
Hello everyone i am fairly new to beyond and cars as well. I am currently looking to expand my knowlodge about cars by hopefully rebuilding an engine. Just wondering if anyone knows somewhere to pick up a older car to rebuild and also possibly use as a winter vehicle? Also is buying a car from an auction to rebuild a good idea?

Thanks,
Matt

Tarrantula
03-08-2010, 11:37 AM
Originally posted by SupraEnthusiast
Hello everyone i am fairly new to beyond and cars as well. I am currently looking to expand my knowlodge about cars by hopefully rebuilding an engine. Just wondering if anyone knows somewhere to pick up a older car to rebuild and also possibly use as a winter vehicle? Also is buying a car from an auction to rebuild a good idea?

Thanks,
Matt

If you want to learn, just grab a shit engine from pick a part, and disassemble and reassemble for fun? Thats how I learned most of what I know - practice makes perfect.

That or pick up haynes manual(s) for your potential car(s) for backup if you get stuck. Ask a few shops if you can come by and watch a partial rebuild?

94boosted
03-08-2010, 01:42 PM
I say go rent a car from enterprise and try to rebuild the motor, if it doesn't work just tell them the piston fell out while you were driving :dunno:

:rofl: jk

revelations
03-08-2010, 02:10 PM
The CPA auctions vehicles for 1000$ or less all the time.

American cars are easy to get parts for and make up a lot of their sales.

JAYMEZ
03-08-2010, 02:19 PM
I learned by rebuilding an old Celebrity and a lawnmower hah..

Frustrating as hell ,but you do learn alot. Have fun!

SupraEnthusiast
03-08-2010, 04:24 PM
Thank you everyone for the responses. I think ill check out regal auctions and maybe the CPA auctions for some oldies. As for tools ill probably pick them up along the way.

Thanks again.

methodicreign
03-08-2010, 05:19 PM