PDA

View Full Version : Legal? Employer deducting pay w/ no consent?

reno97637
03-10-2010, 11:15 PM
Ok, I'm a massage therapist working for this particular spa for over 10 years switching between a full and part time employee. The spa got a new owner and went through some major changes in the past couple of months.
Moving on, we had a spa meeting about the new changes, this and that, and nothing really new.. BUT! Before the meeting ended, the owner and the manager talked about this advertising gift card thing and how everybody is going to get their pay deducted for this new promotion thing. They described it as "pennies getting deducted from your pay". It didn't bother me as I didn't have to sign anything and once again, they described it as "pennies getting deducted".
So anyhow, I get my pay stub today and bam! I get deducted this X amount and it's because of that gift card thing. And it's nowhere near what the owner and the manager described it as.
Is this right? Is a company even allowed to do this?

2Valve0
03-10-2010, 11:17 PM
I've heard alot of ads on vibe lately for a website that you can look this stuff up...or you could try google? :dunno:

97'Scort
03-10-2010, 11:19 PM
Not sure I really get what you mean, but if you mean "Can they deduct from my pay, as a salaried employee of the company, to pay for advertising?" then the answer is no.

However, if it's like a salon and you're paying for a chair or room or whatever and you make your money off clients, then yes, they can get everybody to chip in for advertising as long as there is a majority vote.

King Banana
03-10-2010, 11:23 PM
What amount deduction are we talking about here?
Normally I wouldn't pry for information, but since you brought it up...

JordanAndrew
03-10-2010, 11:23 PM
What is the title of the deduction? You mentioned that you got informed but you never signed anything? It definitely sounds fishy.

I would call the labor board to see if it's legal for them to do this deduction.