PDA

View Full Version : insurance - accident forgiveness

rob the knob
03-15-2010, 09:04 PM
do you many people purchase accident foregiveness on your insurance? is it worth it? what is your situation and what did you decide to purchase or not?

Weapon_R
03-15-2010, 09:28 PM
Definitely worth it. The rates do not change even in an at fault accident.

Speed_69
03-15-2010, 10:38 PM
I work in the insurance industry so I may be alittle biased but would have to say it's well worth the $45 or whatever the fee you have to pay for it every year. It gives you peace of mind knowing that even if you're involved in one at fault accident, your rates aren't jumping up next year.

When i worked as an insurance broker, I could never understand why someone would even choose to decline a coverage that's so cheap that could save them $$$ in the long run. But then again, everybody out there believes that they'll never be involved in an accident where they're at fault :rolleyes:

Ichigo
03-16-2010, 06:52 AM
Does accident forgiveness only work once?

Masked Bandit
03-16-2010, 08:38 AM
I've got mixed feelings on the coverage. Some companies (providing you qualify) throw it in for free. Some companies charge $30 - $50 a year per vehicle. Some of my clients keep it, some don't. The industry as a whole tried this once before five or six years ago and then bailed. It's been back for about two years now and seems to be sticking around. Not all of the companies offer it either.

The one thing to remember is that if you purchase the coverage and use it (have an accident), you are captive to that company for the next six years because the "forgiveness" only applies to that company. If you want to go anywhere else you are hit with your accident. With that said even without the "forgiveness", if you have reached at least six years of clean driving and then have an accident, your existing company will hit you less than trying to move for the following six years anyway.