PDA

View Full Version : Recent engineering grad looking for work/advice

zieg
03-18-2010, 05:51 PM
I debated posting this for a long time, and even had something pretty long typed out, but I've just decided to throw this out there and see what kind of replies I get. I know there are engineers on here, so I'm hoping for some good feedback...

Here's my story. I graduated in 2008 with a Diploma of Technology in Mechanical Engineering. I then spent about 8 months doing cad drafting (With some design work on the side) for a small company, and got laid off when the company ran out of money. This was all in Vancouver.

Fast forward to now, I've moved to Calgary and am having a really tough time finding work. I know this is kind of a bad time to be entering the work force, but I can't really do much about that. I'm also married, and my wife and I are wanting to buy a house, as soon as I have a job that will qualify for a half decent mortgage.

My options as I see them are these:

1. Keep looking for engineering work for as long as it takes

2. Get a job doing something else and work for scratch while I keep looking for an engineering job

3. Get back into debt with student loans, go back to school and rent for another couple of years, and hope that when I graduate again (I want a degree sometime anyhow), the economy will have turned around and I will find work easily

I'm leaning toward option 2 at the moment, but I am a bit worried that it would take away from the time I have to look for real work.

Option 3 is my second choice. I really don't want to go back into debt at this point, but I'm starting to seriously consider it. I should be able to get credit for all of the 1st year at the U of C, so degree in 3 years.

The main thing that's killing me right now, in my opinion, is my lack of experience. Most of the engineering jobs I am seeing call for 5-10+ years of experience.