PDA

View Full Version : 2009 r6 issue

JimmyBurner
03-26-2010, 06:39 PM
My 2009 r6r was stolen from my apartment complex about a month ago. Surprisingly enough, police recovered it without a single scratch on it and I just got it back about 4 days ago. Here's my problem, when they stole it they broke off the ignition piece and i'm assuming they hotwired it. There is a red wire, brown wire, blue and black wire, and blue and yellow wire. All of these were cut in half. I put these wires back together and the dash comes on, fuel pump comes on, but nothing else. Try to start it and nothing. Now I'm a beginner mechanic but I've taken a damn testlight and voltmeter to every part of the bike, fuses all good, starter relay good, fuel pump relay good, everything. Only thing i can think of is loose wiring somewhere else, but I can't find a wiring diagram for it. I've priced out a new ignition and gas cap and trunk lock for about 250 on ebay, I just need to get the bike running so I can take it to my shop.

Go4Long
03-26-2010, 09:24 PM
Take it to a more experienced mechanic and send the bill to your insurance company...your theft coverage should cover all repairs related to the theft.

kevie88
03-26-2010, 09:27 PM
The ignition is coded to the key, if the reciever of the key code is broken (ignition switch) the ECU will call for a NO START condition. The bike will not start.

Sounds like they broke the ignition switch reciever. I don't know if you can buy just an ignition switch alone and have that fix the problem.. I can try to find out for you on Monday.

Probably a good thing, they most likely didn't ride the bike at all. Be thankful you found the inexperienced joyriding type thief haha

japan_us
03-26-2010, 09:31 PM