PDA

View Full Version : Good time to buy first home/condo?

hustler
04-06-2010, 02:45 PM
Hey guys with real estate market as it is today do you guys think now is a good time to buy into a place? In particular what do you guys think about buying a downtown condo?

I'm a new grad with a job out of university and I was looking at places downtown, particularly condos which are in development and will not be completed until about 2012. I figure now was a good time but I would love to hear any advice from the more seasoned veterans on this board.

Thanks in advance!

ExtraSlow
04-06-2010, 02:47 PM
Condo market is pretty depressed right now, so that might mean it's a good time to buy.
I'm no condo expert though.

whiskas
04-06-2010, 03:31 PM
Still looks like a buyers market, take advantage of the low interest rates.

Most importantly you have to look at your current savings and income and see if you can handle it.

barmanjay
04-07-2010, 12:11 AM
Commenting on a long term speculation purchase like that is very hard to do.

Many pros and cons.

You really never know what is going to happen.

Lots of people made money speculating , but on the same coin, people lost. (london towers)

Big question you should really ask yourself

Are you willing to lose your initial investment should things go sour again.

If so,.. then go nuts and hope there is another market hiccup, then you can sell and upgrade.

No-one knows whats going to happen in the future,.. only guessing and speculation.

There are more 'unknowns' when buying into future construction.

How will the board be run? what will the monthly condo fees be? will I have guaranteed underground parking or outside stall? will there be a proper reserve fund asset management program in place?

Lots of people got screwed in discovery,.. after the first year or 2 after construction completion.. condo fees went from $175/mo to $400/mo.

PeterGTiR
04-07-2010, 12:28 AM
Originally posted by barmanjay