PDA

View Full Version : Need info from Advanced autoCAD'ers

Modelexis
04-08-2010, 05:45 PM
Background:

I took a 10 month course on Maya (3D) in 2005
I worked a 3D job for about 2 yrs, converting CAD curves to 3D objects and rendering out scenes.

Some works in progress:
www.modelexis.com

I've been using adobe Illustrator for the last 5 years full time working in the sign industry designing and installing signs.

I've decided to go to school to finally learn autoCAD and get a career in autoCAD or similar.

My question is this, I see with bow valley college they have level I, II, and Advanced.

I have autoCAD 2010 64bit and I have a couple textbooks including:

Learning AutoCAD 2010
AutoCAD 2008 for Dummies

So given my working knowledge of how these 'type of programs' work,

Would it be suggested or advised that I get comfortable with the program and enter into the advanced course to skip all the BS and get into the stuff that matters?

Is an online course recommended or even viable to learn autoCAD?

I need as much info as I can get, if you have another school to suggest, even another program if you don't think autoCAD is the software leader.
Any info I can get would be appriciated.

Thanks.

Modelexis
04-08-2010, 06:34 PM
First autoCAD q.

Why does the circle show a snap receptive center point but not the square?

legendboy
04-09-2010, 08:32 AM
If you have not ever used autocad you would benefit from taking all the courses.

I personally doubt you could challenge the advanced class after reading a few books, but who knows what the bow valley classes are like :dunno:

Modelexis
04-09-2010, 10:27 AM
I'm not looking to challenge the advanced class, but rather take the class and skip the 2 stages of beginner classes.

From what it says on the website about the first two intro courses is they mainly cover drawing lines and the basics, which i can learn on my own with textbooks and using the program as I move through them.