PDA

View Full Version : "Healthy" Midnight Snack

Clever
04-10-2010, 12:51 AM
Anyone have any recommendation? I started doing P90X about 2 months ago, and always wondered what a good midnight snack would be, the reason being is that I do my workouts later at night after my kids go to bed, so sometimes I do not finish until 10:30- 11 PM, usually by midnight I'm starved and I do not want to wait until morning to eat something. Been eating banana's and a bit of pistachio nuts the few nights I had to eat something, and I'm just learning about protein bars or shakes but have not bought any yet, but even then I'm not sure if that's a good idea. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

anschutz_92
04-10-2010, 12:54 AM
Milk.

Clever
04-10-2010, 12:55 AM
I forgot to mention, lactose intolerant :(

JordanAndrew
04-10-2010, 12:55 AM
This might sound odd but what about having cereal with fruits? Fruits in general would also be a good snack. Make some milkshakes with fruits? I usually like having an avocado shake after working out.

Bizzareo
04-10-2010, 01:00 AM
Lactose free milk!

I normally do fruits or veggies. Really digging the Chinese Fuji apples right now (the ones wrapped up in paper) they are sooooooooooooo good and wax free (I am allergic to the wax the put on apples). Other than that I always have a bag of carrot sticks in the fridge.

If your doing a diet like p90x it should either be fruits/veggies, milk/milk substitutes or something high in fiber (just by increasing your fiber intake you can lose weight!). When I was going hardcore (south beach) I would just eat a spoonful of honey or peanut butter and go to bed.

G-Suede
04-10-2010, 01:13 AM
Generally fruits are high in sugar and will raise insulin levels - you'll want to avoid this situation at night. Just eat a chicken breast, scrambled egg whites, can of albacore tuna, piece of steak, pork tenderloin, etc. Anything higher in protein is good.

gqmw
04-10-2010, 01:16 AM