PDA

View Full Version : Would you buy a used car that had an accident?

no_joke
04-17-2010, 10:39 PM
I've found a decently priced '06 Acura TL online that was in an accident this winter. The seller was up front about it- apparently he couldn't avoid hitting another car that had pulled into an intersection. This resulted in the front bumper and one headlight being replaced.

Being a total noob at buying a used car, I have to ask: Should you not buy a used car that has any accidents on its record? Is it like a black hex of death that should be avoided? Does being in an accident make this particular car untouchable? Personally, I am OK with it as long as the repairs were properly done. How much can I bargain off the asking price because the car was in an accident and doesn't have a CLEAN record? Obviously I would get a good mechanical inspection to see if there is any frame damage, etc before committing to buy.

Thanks all, I ran a search on beyond and the rest of the interwebs but couldn't really find anything specific to this.

rage2
04-17-2010, 10:40 PM
It really depends on how bad the accident is, and how it was repaired. If there was frame damage, I'd pass. If it's a small fender bender and all panels/bumpers etc. were replaced and not repaired, I wouldn't have a problem with it.

At the end of the day, it's personal preference.

corsvette
04-17-2010, 10:49 PM
If the seller is honest and the car only needed a bumper and light its no big deal.Run a carproof on the car,it should give you the damage estimates it had.

Wrinkly
04-17-2010, 10:53 PM
Good advice so far.

Also bear in mind that it "may" affect your resale value down the road, so try to get the price you're paying down a little to reflect that, unless of course, it's already been taken into account.

r3ccOs
04-18-2010, 03:02 AM
Originally posted by Wrinkly
Good advice so far.