PDA

View Full Version : camera cleaning???

KISS_ME
04-20-2010, 03:06 PM
I just took the plunge in buying a 50d and somehow ended up buying the extended warranty as well (futureshop). they told me these things require standard maintaince and the (CMOS??) sensor needs to be clean regularly which is something that extended warranty covers. my question is that is this cleaning really neccessary and also would you trust futureshop to do this clean?? would this also be something i can clean myself? or should newbies stay away from this in general? im completely new to the SLR business so any tips such as taking pictures to accessories would be much appreciated. ooh and i got the 18-85 lense which you guys tell me is a fairly good lense. thanks in advance.

The_Rural_Juror
04-20-2010, 03:21 PM
You can do it yourself. There are plenty of youtube videos on the topic.

Easy. Soap and water.

(just kidding about the last part).

Pollywog
04-20-2010, 03:46 PM
Originally posted by KISS_ME
would you trust futureshop to do this clean??

No.

Mitsu3000gt
04-20-2010, 03:48 PM
Originally posted by KISS_ME
I just took the plunge in buying a 50d and somehow ended up buying the extended warranty as well (futureshop). they told me these things require standard maintaince and the (CMOS??) sensor needs to be clean regularly which is something that extended warranty covers. my question is that is this cleaning really neccessary and also would you trust futureshop to do this clean?? would this also be something i can clean myself? or should newbies stay away from this in general? im completely new to the SLR business so any tips such as taking pictures to accessories would be much appreciated. ooh and i got the 18-85 lense which you guys tell me is a fairly good lense. thanks in advance.