PDA

View Full Version : ACAD vs. SAIT (Photography Certificate)

IllusionV
04-20-2010, 11:02 PM
I was debating to post this topic here or Campus Chat... this forum seems more appropriate.

So I'm looking at getting a photography certificate this summer and I'm looking at either ACAD or SAIT. SAIT offers night/weekend classes which fits in well with my summer job and I'm not sure what ACAD offers.

My question is - which institution is more prestigious? Say you were hiring a photographer, would you care where their accreditation is from?

And one more thing, do most professional photographers have formal education of any sort? I'm looking at starting to earn money off my photography and I figured this would be a good first step. Thoughts?

davidI
04-20-2010, 11:13 PM
I am by no means a professional photographer, although I have thought about selling prints myself. In my mind, if I were to hire someone to take photos, their portfolio would be more important to me than their "formal education" - but I'm sure having both wouldn't hurt by any means.

Melinda
04-20-2010, 11:15 PM
Originally posted by IllusionV
And one more thing, do most professional photographers have formal education of any sort? I'm looking at starting to earn money off my photography and I figured this would be a good first step. Thoughts?
If you're thinking about going pro, you shouldnt need to worry too much about a photography certificate, you should already be good enough to jump into it. The certificate is a lot of basics, but nothing TOO in depth. How long have you been shooting for? Do you have a fantastic portfolio to show people? Lots of experience with people both infront of and behind the camera? Know your camera inside and out? People care more about that than any classroom lesson you could throw at them.