PDA

View Full Version : Auto Detailers

Diesel2005
05-17-2010, 01:37 PM
Has anyone worked at a auto detailer?

How is the work environment? Good as a summer job?

Zewind
05-17-2010, 02:55 PM
I only did it for 1 week back in the winter. So that was not fun.

The guy i worked for had 20 yrs of experiense and expected that out of me in less than 1 week. I found it rought on me personally.

You learn so much tho.

SpeedIllusion
05-17-2010, 03:11 PM
You should PM inline6turbo(Renee)

LMVantage
05-17-2010, 03:46 PM
I worked as a detailer in a handful of shops for 7 years. It has the habit of spitting people out rather quickly, because I noticed people get into it thinking it's a cake walk. Be prepared to be told you missed a spot, or have to redo things many, many times. If you're willing to learn, and go in there with an open mind (ie check the attitude at the door), it's a good gig, and like Zewind mentioned, you have the opportunity to learn a lot.

2EFNFAST
05-17-2010, 05:13 PM
If you work for somebody like Renee who values quality over quantity, I'm sure you'd enjoy it and learn a lot.

However, 99% of shops out there are hack shops - in/out, high volume. In that environment you'll quickly grow to hate it (imho).

Personally, I admire those who can do this day in-day out. I helped Renee for a bit and, quite honestly, got burnt out from it. It's pretty phsyically demanding after a while, and honestly when you think about it, a bit depressing - you slave over a vehicle only to realize that the first time the person washes it, it will look EXACTLY like it does right now....then it's like 'what's the point?'

Tik-Tok
05-17-2010, 05:16 PM
Originally posted by 2EFNFAST
you slave over a vehicle only to realize that the first time the person washes it, it will look EXACTLY like it does right now....then it's like 'what's the point?'