PDA

View Full Version : Older 4Runner Owners

5hift
06-02-2010, 05:17 PM
I am looking for a 1999-2002 Toyota 4Runner for a reliable daily driver.

From what I`ve seen so far in Calgary in terms of used sales, they are usually approaching or just past 200,000 km and around the $10,000 mark.

My parents have had a 4Runner before, but never past the 150K mark.

How are they in terms of reliability in the higher kms. Any major problems I should be aware about, or expense fixes that should have been done by now.

The last thing I need is a money pit, I`m actually downgrading to save money so any advice from actual owners would be greatly appreciated.

AE92_TreunoSC
06-02-2010, 05:37 PM
I recently sold my dads 99 Ltd @ 170k for 10,000$

They are really though and can take a beating as long as you maintain it.

I also work on them for a living and can tell you they have no history of expensive common problems, as long as they are serviced on schedule.

This only headache, is the rear brake pivots for the e-brake, they sieze and dont allow the rear shoes to adjust properly.

Make sure look for are timing belt history, driveline fluid history, rust and tuneup history.

The timing belts can go up to 150,000kms + without breaking, and its a non-interference engine, but its definitely a big concern.

CelicaST-162
06-02-2010, 05:52 PM
Originally posted by 5hift
I am looking for a 1999-2002 Toyota 4Runner for a reliable daily driver.

From what I`ve seen so far in Calgary in terms of used sales, they are usually approaching or just past 200,000 km and around the $10,000 mark.

My parents have had a 4Runner before, but never past the 150K mark.

How are they in terms of reliability in the higher kms. Any major problems I should be aware about, or expense fixes that should have been done by now.

The last thing I need is a money pit, I`m actually downgrading to save money so any advice from actual owners would be greatly appreciated.