PDA

View Full Version : Ticket: Do I have a chance?

Mckenzie
12-13-2003, 07:00 PM
First, anyone who thinks I deserve the ticket is right and they dont need to post and flame me. I seem to read that in everyones ticket posts. I am looking for advice. :)

Situation: Friday I was driving to school to study for finals at about 7:45 on Deerfoot just coming up to Douglasglen. The traffic was backed up really bad so I decided to do what I usually do: Pull into Douglasglen and pull a u-turn near the entrance to the plaza. I have been doing LEGAL u-turns there for almost 3 years.

So I do the u-turn and the cops are sitting on the grass and they pull me over. There are a total of four cops, in two vehicles. They tell me I disobeyed a traffic sign.

I told him that there was no traffic sign (It was pitch black outside) and he says that is has been there forever. I know that is not true because I made a u-turn there about 4 weeks ago and there was no sign. I still havent seen the sign but I am sure that is has been put up within the last 4 weeks.

So..... $172 Ticket. My only other ticket was a U-turn 4 years ago and it was "illegal u-turn" instead of "disobeying traffic sign."

Do I have any ground to get this ticket reduced?

or

Fight it straight-out?

What would it cost to fight this ticket at points or one of the other driving defence places?

I am poor and cannot afford $172. I would settle for $100 but that is pretty steep for a u-turn...especially if it is a new sign. Thx everyone. :)

403Gemini
12-13-2003, 07:12 PM
im pretty sure your stuck, you may get it reduced.

a signs a sign, even if its only been up for 1 day. its like if they threw a stop sign and you went through it, its for safety reasons.

Blue Devil 2
12-13-2003, 07:15 PM
I would just talk to the prosecutor myself, and he'll work out a deal with you.

Fluidic
12-13-2003, 07:15 PM
Go and fight the ticket -- fight any ticket you get -- that's what court is for. :)

ryder_23
12-13-2003, 07:21 PM
^