PDA

View Full Version : Engineering to Medicine...

Super_Geo
06-06-2010, 12:58 PM
I'm about a month away from getting my P.Eng and always had the notion that it would be the point where I take some serious thoughts on the direction of my career and see if I want to change course.

I thought about writing the CFA and transitioning into finance, but you can only hang out with so many douchebag IB cocksuckers before the realization that having these guys as your co-workers for the rest of your life might not be the best idea.

So the other route I thought about going down is medicine. Does anyone know if it hurts my chances of getting into med school wtihout a biology based undergrad? Or will a good MCAT make up for that? I took Engineering Physics at Queen's and graduated back in 2006, but I didn't take a single bio course. I've been doing engineering in oil/gas ever since I graduated and have had no medical exposure whatsoever (I have, however, watched all 7 seasons of Scrubs).

I'm thinking of volunteering at a local hospital or clinic to get some more exposure to the health field and see what it does for my motivation to get in...

Looking to get opinions from the Beyonders in med school (I think there are at least 2 or 3 on here). Thanks!

dirtsniffer
06-06-2010, 01:05 PM
any thoughts about going into law school?
i heard patent lawyers start at around 140 grand :nut:

nobb
06-06-2010, 01:21 PM
Isnt there a huge biological science part of the MCAT? Taking 4 years of engineering gives you almost zero exposure to anything biological related.

Try looking at some of the sample MCAT questions:
http://www.testprepreview.com/mcat_practice.htm

I can ace all the energy, gas, electrical, physical questions but fail horribly at anything bio related. I would imagine it to be very tough to pass that portion of the MCAT without atleast BIO 30 knowledge and I cant imagine it being possible to learn all that in less than a year.

xrayvsn
06-06-2010, 02:29 PM