PDA

View Full Version : time to go prime?

quazimoto
06-20-2010, 09:35 AM
I wanted to get some opinions from you all and if many of you were feeling the same way or not. Recently more than ever I find myself shoot primes when it comes to lower focal lengths and rarely pulling 16-35 or 24-70 out of the bag. With the release of the Nikon 24mm F1.4 lens I've really begun contemplating selling both the 16-35 and 24-70 and just using a 24mm F1.4, 50mm F1.4 and an 85mm F1.4.

I think most of this boils down to the fact that I could sell the two lenses and pretty much buy the 24 and 85 without losing much money. I'm beginning to find that the zooms leave so much to be desired in comparison to the prime lenses and after the wedding yesterday it' really hard to justify not doing this.

I'm really curious if many of you are in the same spot using primes the majority of the time or if you were contemplating making the same switch?

blitz
06-20-2010, 10:48 AM
I'm no pro, but I pretty much only shoot primes, with the exception of a UWA zoom. My daily setup right now is:

16-35mm F4 VR
Sigma 50mm 1.4
Nikon 85mm 1.8
Nikon 85mm 2.8 PC

I'd love to add the 24mm 1.4 to that eventually and upgrade the 85mm 1.8 to a 1.4

Wouldn't shooting ceremonies and receptions be a little limiting with only primes?

quazimoto
06-20-2010, 11:00 AM
Yes and no for ceremonies. I use my 70-200 VR II a lot at ceremonies and the other lenses get used very little for artsy type shots. I think that's why initially got me thinking of switching to a 24 F1.4. I have used my 24-70 in a month now.

I'm not sure how well shooting at F1.4 would work for a ceremony anyways. Most of the time I'm stopping the lenses down quite a bit and shooting at ISO 6400 for the ceremonies. I often won't shoot at F1.4 unless there is a good reason to be doing so.