PDA

View Full Version : Working at Altalink

oogaboogie
07-01-2010, 08:03 PM
Anyone know anything about working at Altalink?

redblack
07-03-2010, 12:53 PM
I have been working at AltaLink for just about 4 years and my wife has been there for 2 years. We are a power transmission company. Overall working there has been great, lots of perks and time off. The company is steadily growing and most off the employees are younger in age. Is there any specific questions that you have?

oogaboogie
07-03-2010, 03:21 PM
Most of the positions they are hiring for are for 1-2 year terms. Do they usually let people go after their term or do they keep you on as a full time employee?

Also,
Do they offer stock options? Is medical and dental costs fully covered? How flexible are the work hours?

Cos
07-03-2010, 05:38 PM
What is the position? There aren't stock options from what I remember, benefits are good because it is union.

Hours are usually business hours unless you work in ops or have another arrangements.

rinny
07-03-2010, 06:17 PM
I would assume that the short term contracts are mainly using people for 500kv expansion and other bulk transmission upgrades going on around the province currently.

I guess it depends what position you are in and what terms of your employment are but it seems that most I know at AL are not on any sort of short-term contract like what you describe, with exception of Consultant/Project Manager roles.

Times could be changing though. Many in industry have said things like Altalink may change hands once the major upgrades in the next 5-10 years have finished- Similar to the way that TransAlta divided up its interests and sold off what is essentially Altalink now.

andre9000
07-03-2010, 06:41 PM
do u guys work in the same building as snc lavalin? those guys were all homos :rofl:

Cos
07-03-2010, 07:23 PM

oogaboogie
07-03-2010, 07:35 PM
Its a job in the operations dept.

I heard there was also a year end bonus... Would I be eligible for this?