PDA

View Full Version : Good or Bad idea what do you think ?

Justin-88
07-06-2010, 12:50 AM
Alright so heres the situation, im 16 and Ive been driving for a couple months now in my 99 Honda Accord, its automatic, and lately i really want to learn manual for the future for when I come to buy a new car. And since its summer and I have some money I want to buy a cheap manual car learn manual play around with the car and then just resell it for what I bought it maybe less maybe more.

Do you think this is a bad/good idea ?

Recap:

-Has car
-Wants new car, not to replace other car, but to learn manual
-Not to be misread, I love my Accord

Thanks

sxtothe240
07-06-2010, 02:57 AM
instead of keeping the accord, why dont you sell it. Use the money from that and get a "decent" manual car and drive it for a couple of years. If you like your accord, pick up a manual one.

that way you get to drive manual, and don't have to pay insurance on 2 vehicles when you're 16.

ExtraSlow
07-06-2010, 06:34 AM
I agree with sxtothe240. If you are serious about learning to drive a stick shift, then sell your automatic. If you keep the Auto, you'll find you still drive it more often than your beater, and you won't learn nearly as fast, or as well.

If you really like the accord, there are about 50 manual accords on Kijiji right now. Buy one of those . . .

G-ZUS
07-06-2010, 06:44 AM
Trade urs for my manual accord

-relk-
07-06-2010, 07:32 AM
I agree with everyone else and i am sure most people will. Once you learn to drive manual you most likely won't want to go back, especially if your still young. Thats what happened with me.

Justin-88
07-06-2010, 09:56 AM
Originally posted by sxtothe240
instead of keeping the accord, why dont you sell it. Use the money from that and get a "decent" manual car and drive it for a couple of years. If you like your accord, pick up a manual one.

that way you get to drive manual, and don't have to pay insurance on 2 vehicles when you're 16.