PDA

View Full Version : Would you take the pay cut?

Awd-Tsi
07-14-2010, 05:42 PM
Would you sacrafice a few dolla a hour in change for something that you enjoy doing, as opposed to making more doing something you don't like?

Aaron@Tuner
07-14-2010, 05:51 PM
I was a management consultant for a small firm in Calgary before I started here at Tunerworks. Absolutely hated my job and now I get to see amazing cars day in and day out. :bigpimp:

drewb
07-14-2010, 05:53 PM
That's kind of a shitty question.

It depends on the pay decrease amount as well as the "utility" increase of the new job, as well as the original pay and the original job. When the marginal rate of substitution for money to job satisfaction yields better outcomes people will act differently accordingly.

AE92_TreunoSC
Depends, if you have dependants I'd stick out with the more secure of the two, if they are equal then I go for the dollar.

If you are single, then go nuts, you shouldn't do anything you hate daily. Most jobs suck, but there should be something to look forward to as part of the job.

Isaiah
Originally posted by Awd-Tsi
Would you sacrafice a few dolla a hour in change for something that you enjoy doing, as opposed to making more doing something you don't like?
Pens how much dolla you tok-in.

GQBalla
07-14-2010, 06:06 PM
ill be the first to say i would stack paper.

thats just my opinion.

for me i go where the money is.

max_boost
07-14-2010, 06:17 PM
Originally posted by GQBalla
ill be the first to say i would stack paper.

thats just my opinion.

for me i go where the money is.

YEP.

BigMass
07-14-2010, 06:18 PM
Originally posted by Awd-Tsi

absolutely. Money isn't everything

A790
07-14-2010, 06:23 PM
"money can't buy me happiness, but I'm happiest when I can buy what I want, do what I want...."

..*JDM Hatch*..
07-14-2010, 06:35 PM
if it is only $2/hr drop and you still have room to advance in the new company quite quickely,then i would go for it.