PDA

View Full Version : paintless dent removal in the news

urban.one
07-28-2010, 07:39 AM
Hail chasers cash in on vehicle dents

Last Updated: Tuesday, July 27, 2010 | 4:45 PM MT

Gaetan Santerre has spent the last 15 years chasing hailstorms to fix the dents that hail leaves on vehicles. (CBC)

Hail chasers who follow storms across Canada have set up shop in Calgary, making thousands of dollars fixing ugly dents to vehicles.

Calgarians are still waiting for repairs after an intense half-hour storm pounded the city earlier this month with hail the size of golf balls, cracking windshields and denting vehicles.

It's after such storms that hail chasers pull into town picking up lucrative work fixing damaged vehicles.

"I'm a storm chaser. I usually try to keep it a little more low key and basically I push dents for a living," said Bill Moore, whose licence plate reads "HAIL YAH." Top dent pushers can make as much as $600,000 a year.

Moore specializes in paintless dent repair: "massaging from underneath, lightly flexing till the dent releases and it goes back to its original memory."

Hail the size of golf balls pelted Calgary on July 12. (Submitted by Jen Hall)
Gaetan Santerre is based in Montreal but spends little time there as he follows hailstorms, making an average of $250,000 for nine months of work. It's been his job for the last 15 years.

"It's fun, too," he told CBC News. "We go everywhere in the world: Calgary, Montreal, Seattle, everywhere, Australia, France."

Among the hailstorms that develop in spring and summer, central and southern Alberta, known as hail alley, is often hardest hit. Moore has homes in Oshawa, Ont., and Medicine Hat so he can reach different parts of the country faster.