PDA

View Full Version : Job Opportunity Dilemma

Shaolin
12-21-2003, 10:45 PM
alright, well I sort of have a dilemma here. Currently I'm a Jr Accountant / Freight and Postage Analyst for a print/ad company.. The reason I have 2 titles is because I was originally hired for one, but then the girl i share the office with went away to surgery, and I said I was up for a challenge and took her job while she's away. Anyways, as I'm surfing the web looking for new job opportunities, I found a couple that are tempting.. But here's the problem.

I'm doing the stuff for both titles and on top of that I'm also doing work with the Accounting Manager, long story short, I'm basically learning to do the manager's job as well as doing my own job. But I still get paid the same, (even when I took the girl's job, my pay didn't go up).

Anyways, my question is, would any of you do a job for more money, that's in your field of study, but likely to be a step down to what you're doing? IE. Assistant Controller making 50k a year, to being a Staff Accountant for 85k a year. (Note, this is just an example, Asst Controllers don't make 50k a year)

Would you do it? I'm very tempted to take it but I don't really know. I'm a capitalist to the core and when it comes to business I'm cut-throat as hell. Chances are I've already made up my mind, but I'd still like to get input from people who's been in this situation.

Thanx.

EDIT: Forgot to mention, these jobs I'm interested in will double my salary.

Ben
12-21-2003, 10:52 PM
Welp, I would look into which has the most security. Are you going to be replaced after a year or 2? is the job going to be around? Being with a company for a while in most cases pays off.

That being said, I would go where the money is :D

Shaolin
12-21-2003, 10:59 PM