PDA

View Full Version : Looking to build FIRST track car!

happycamper
08-30-2010, 10:27 PM
Hello, I am an UBER NOOB to this amazing forum. I am just getting into the Japanese car world. I'm sure that there are MANY posts like mine on here, but I'm having difficulty finding them through searching. If I can get some help or just some links - that'd be great!

I am looking to build a cheap track car. So far an old civic seems to be the best choice. I first became interested when I found that it is possible to pick up a car for around $500 and throw around $1000 at it and end up with a fun track car. I am a little confused as to what kind of engine to put in it (or keep the original?). There are MANY choices, like a D series with turbo, a B16, B18... and so on. I don't need a super fast car, just something that can take corners really nicely - So what would you recomend for suspension upgrades, if any? I want to do it all myself too - I just need a place in calgary to install this stuff - any suggestions?

That is what I'm looking for. Is it possible, and how should I go about doing this?

-Thanks

inline6turbo
08-30-2010, 10:38 PM
I know I was buggin you already about this project today at the shop, but if you do happen to get this project going I totally forgot to mention I have a set of the most amazing coilovers EVAR for an EG/DC2 Integra for sale.

But like I was saying, search up in the garage section here for civic build threads and see what other people have done. There's a ton of them on here as they're probably the most popular as a starting out car.

happycamper
08-30-2010, 10:41 PM
Thanks! I'll check that out now.

Modelexis
08-30-2010, 10:42 PM
You have to be much more specific than just 'track car'

1/4 mile track
1/8 mile track
auto-x track
oval track
road course
rally
ice track

etc

I've seen people with stock crx motor, just a stiff chassis, good tires and all the safety equipment out on race days with a very capable car and a very fun ride.