PDA

View Full Version : Contemplating double major...(Bcomm+???)

iahbrip
08-31-2010, 04:03 PM
Hey everybody, I'm a current Haskyane student considering a double major. I will probably specialize in Acct or Finance, and I'm considering adding a BA in Economics or a BA in Psychology to complement it. The other alternative is doing a minor instead...So basically the argument is double major VS major+minor...

I know that Psyc probably wouldn't complement a Bcomm well, but I find it quite interesting as a side subject. However I'm not looking for a position in HR so maybe it would be useless ultimately?

Econ seems like a perfectly fitting degree, but it has been 2 years since I took Econ 203, and it is something I would need to work at ALOT, as it isn't my strong point. However I am willing to do what I need to do.

The alternative is to perhaps minor in Finance if I major in Accounting, or vice versa.

I believe that a double major would be a solid choice, possibly opening future opportunities for me, so right now I'm pretty torn between all these choices. Since I am planning to do an MBA afterwards, maybe I would be fine just sticking to one degree? I want to have the upper edge. I understand that the time it will take to gain all these different qualifications could perhaps be used more valuable gaining real world experience and networking, but I am willing to take a little extra time...

Any input beyonders? This is stressing me out alot lately for some reason haha. I have done some research online aswell as talking to academic counselors, but to be honest I usually learn alot more lurking beyond so I figured I would ask!

gyu
09-01-2010, 03:10 AM
Are you into math? If you are, actuarial science might be something to consider.

t-im
09-01-2010, 07:53 AM
Haskayne doesn't allow double concentrations right?

Major in Accounting and do a lot of courses in Finance (or vice versa?)

xttxt
09-01-2010, 08:20 AM