PDA

View Full Version : Engine bay cleaning

relyt92
09-06-2010, 06:48 PM
Hey guys, got a new car recently and the engine bay isn't that nice looking inside, so I'd like to give it a cleaning. However, I've never done it before so i've got a few questions about it. What cleaner would you guys recommend? The engine bay isn't like covered in grease, but it isn't that clean either. What do I need to cover up/try to avoid getting any water on? The car is a 2001 Acura CL type S. Also any general do's and don'ts for cleaning an engine bay?

Thanks guys.

G-ZUS
09-06-2010, 07:01 PM
I like to go to the car wash and put 1 plastic bag over alternator, and 1 over distributor. Spray some de-greaser on there and wait a couple minutes then spray it all off.

SkittleFreak
09-06-2010, 07:56 PM
You can pretty much wash everything in there. Would it be very good of a car if driving in the rain and the engine got a little bit wet and it dies?

Avoid spraying too much degreaser on the belts, prematurely wear them out. Don't hold pressure washer too close to any sort of electrical connector or points (Pressure water will get in easier then rain water while driving!). Rinse the underside too since it drips down.

And remember, no matter how hard I've tried to pressure wash it clean, I still smell the degreaser for a few KM.

Maxx Mazda
09-06-2010, 08:00 PM
Plastic bags not required on anything. Simple Green MAX is a good consumer product for degreasing.

Cos
09-06-2010, 08:02 PM
Originally posted by Maxx Mazda
Plastic bags not required on anything. Simple Green MAX is a good consumer product for degreasing.

Not always true, I know in some vehicles it is bad to direct spray the engine as the COP's collect water and shorten their life considerably.

Numi
09-06-2010, 09:11 PM
Originally posted by Maxx Mazda

Spray water directly at your distributor cap with a pressure washer and than go try and start it and tell me what happens

StreetRacerX
09-06-2010, 09:20 PM