PDA

View Full Version : **SAIT STUDENTS** Park at sears cheap

FraserB
09-07-2010, 09:55 PM
As you all know SAIT got the city to stop sears from issuing parking passes to students. This is due to the fact that Sears is not allowed to charge for "off site" parking, falls under the business zoning rules.

Sears parking is now reserved for Sears customers only. Simply go into Sears and buy a pack of gum and keep the receipt. Once you patronize Sears, you are now a customer and have the right to use the parking lot. If Sears is employing chalking methods to catch students parking they would have to show that they are chalking every single vehicle in the lots as they can not enforce on a discriminatory basis.

There is also the possibility to argue that a Sears employee is not allowed to interfere with your vehicle (chalking) and this can only be done by an authorized enforcement officer (bylaw, CPS, RCMP, CPA etc..).

**I am not a lawyer, nor do I represent myself as one. Any and all information, advice, opinions and suggestions in any post are mine alone and do not represent those of the CPA, CPS, City of Calgary, SAIT, Sears or Beyond.ca. Any actions taken after reading my posts are the sole responsibility of the reader, I assume no responsibility for fines, towing or legal actions resulting from those actions.**

Twin_Cam_Turbo
09-07-2010, 09:58 PM
I think im going to start displaying the receipt in my window with the date circled each day. Only shitty part is Sears isn't open before class so I will have to go at lunch.

Ferio_vti
09-07-2010, 11:43 PM
Why not park on the West end, by Safeway and take the train over to Sait? They'd never suspect someone parked there to be a Sait student. That's what I used to do.

Tik-Tok
09-07-2010, 11:51 PM
Originally posted by Ferio_vti
Why not park on the West end, by Safeway and take the train over to Sait? They'd never suspect someone parked there to be a Sait student. That's what I used to do.