PDA

View Full Version : part time waiter

timdog
10-05-2010, 10:22 AM
I was thinking of trying to get a part time job as a waiter. i have literally no experience serving. i do however have alot of experience working with people and communicating effectively. I am a relatively successful young professional that works downtown in a corporate setting.

I think I would be a good waiter but certainly do not want to make a full time job out of it. my intentions are to just work 1 or 2 shifts per week to pick up some extra cash and keep me busy.
what do you think my chances are of getting hired somewhere on a very part time basis with no experience? any recommendations of where to apply and how to apply? my resume is very much catered to my career in IT management, which probably doesn't do me much good.
any advice is appreciated.

msommers
10-05-2010, 10:48 AM
Same situation as me, waitor or cook. Curious as well.

Awd-Tsi
10-05-2010, 10:50 AM
Are you a hot chick? Just walk into different resutaunts and say you're interested in a waiter postition and is there anything available at this time?

timdog
10-05-2010, 11:14 AM
haha. yeah i am not a hot chick. i thought the same thing though, if i was a hot chick it would be simple.

ekguy
10-05-2010, 11:33 AM
Good luck. I'm a guy and it's what I've been doing for the last couple years as money can be decent depending where you work. With no experience and without tits and a vagina your best bet is to start at places like Boston Pizza, Eastside Mario's and crappy places like that.

Took me a couple years to beef up my resume enough in that aspect to get to serve in nice places. Currently I work at a very established golf and country club and at the Grand Theatre downtown at Velvet.

It's a lot of fun and definitely keeps you busy. But hard to get into if you haven't had a couple years experience at least.

jwslam
10-05-2010, 11:47 AM