PDA

View Full Version : First speeding ticket.

Seth1968
10-08-2010, 12:03 PM
Hello.

I'm 42 years old and have never had a speeding ticket. That is, until about a week ago when I received a photo radar ticket in the mail.

The ticket claims I was doing 88km/hr in a 70 zone. The street is 43rd in Lethbridge in which I travel everyday as my home is right off of 43rd.

I've lived in the area for three years, and know that 43rd is a hotbead for photo radar. I sure the fuck wasn't going almost 20KM/HR over the speed limit.

I've been a computer tech for almost 15 years, and understand that failing electronic components can produce anomalous results.

How can it be that an electronic machine can legally convict a citizen?

Let me guess...$$$

friedn00dles
10-08-2010, 12:15 PM
no you weren't going 20km/h over the limit, you were going 18km/h over the limit.

Radar caught your speed as you proceeded through the intersection or past a van/truck.

Photo caught your plate as the result and the ticket was issued to the registered owner of that plate/vehicle so unless you have some magical computer than can prove the calibration is wrong,

radar + photo = enough for a conviction

no speeding = no bitching

msommers
10-08-2010, 12:24 PM
I'm sure you could challenge it and request when the machine was last calibrated if you're concerned.

Which brings me to an interesting point. Despite being highly unethical, how is it not possible that photo radar controllers just tags people saying they were going...15 over when they actually weren't? Easily less than half would even challenge it. There has to be some sort of standardized control so that this wouldn't happen...right?