PDA

View Full Version : 240v help!

eblend
10-10-2010, 03:48 PM
Hello guys,

Been doing 120v electrical for a while on the garage and the basement, but this is my first attempt at 240 volt, and I am confused!

Here is the background.
In the house, I have a double braker which crosses over from both feeds, so I get 120v on each braker for a combined 240v. From here on I have a 10-3 wire running underground to the garage sub panel. In the house the 10-3 cable is connected in the following way (red to braker 1, black to braker 2 on the dual braker), white to neutral and the uninsulated copper to the panel itself.

In the garage, the other end of the 10-3 cable is connected like this.

Red to one phase, black to the second phase, white to neutral and copper to the ground. Okay everything up to this point is fine and everything works. In the garage I have a few single brakers that are used for lights ect. Now, this is where I am getting confused. I want to install a 240v plug and a 240v heater.

The plug is a Numa 6-30 plug which has 3 connectors on it.

http://www.plumbersurplus.com/images/prod/5/Leviton-061-5372-0-rw-163417-228148.jpg