PDA

View Full Version : Calling potential employer after sending resume

FraserB
10-14-2010, 11:52 AM
Just wondering how long after sending in a resume and not hearing back would it be advisable to call the potential employer and ask if they had any questions regarding it.

The job I applied for is at a smaller company that mostly hires through word of mouth. I had what seemed to be a good phone conversation with the president of the company and was told to email him my resume and dates that I was available to meet him and his business partner.

I am in my last year of school in a program that relates directly to what the company is doing and I would love to work at the type of company that it is. I just don't want to seem like I'm bugging them, but at the same time I would really love the job.

Tomaz
10-14-2010, 12:01 PM
Once a week. Usually mid-week. Never hurts to ask when they plan on filling the position.

Usually a time frame is specified by the employer.

Be prepared. Some places take months before hiring. EG: My company is taking interviews for a position opening in March of next year.

jdmXSI
10-14-2010, 12:03 PM
I personally wouldn't wait more than 48 hours and no sooner than 24. Even just to see if they had recieved your resume. Just my thoughts...

InRich
10-14-2010, 12:30 PM
DO IT!
I remember I got my first job just because I followed up. its professional, and it makes you look great and eager to learn

bignerd
10-14-2010, 12:34 PM
I would wait longer than 48 hours, people are busy, and if he hasn't looked at it yet he won't have anything to talk to you about... If you sent it this week I would call Monday morning.

PeterGTiR
10-14-2010, 12:36 PM