PDA

View Full Version : Need tips on re-negotiating wages with the boss

copynpaste
10-21-2010, 07:15 PM
On Nov 1st Im sitting down with my boss and re-negotiating my wages as we planned. How do I go about this? Cause this is my first time and have no experience. Basically I want the higher wage (and he knows it because we've talked about this in the past just recently) frankly what im being paid now is just not enough. But i toughed it out for the time being like he had asked and we agreed to talk again on Nov 1st.

Im most likely going to have to remind him about it, should I email him first asking whens a good time to sit and talk about it or just walk into his office?

I just want to tell him that what im being paid now is just not enough to live on. But would that sound stupid if I said that? I also recently got another job offer from another company that pays bit more, should I bring that up with him?

Whats the best way to word it and go about it without sounding pushing or demanding?

Chandler_Racing
10-21-2010, 07:20 PM
Tell him exactly what you want and be firm. If you're valuable to the organization try and establish the value you provide and the corresponding extra compensation you deserve as a result.

When you sound wishy washy he might be more inclined to push back or simply say no.

copynpaste
10-21-2010, 07:23 PM
Originally posted by Chandler_Racing
Tell him exactly what you want and be firm. If you're valuable to the organization try and establish the value you provide and the corresponding extra compensation you deserve as a result.

When you sound wishy washy he might be more inclined to push back or simply say no.

Ok so how would you word it to start?

I know first thing were going to do is go over my goals and whether or not I hit them for the month of Oct. THen he will comment on my work. Then do I bring up the wage then?