PDA

View Full Version : Car Accident

xtrader101
12-28-2010, 03:49 PM
I had an accident and the car is badly damaged. I lose control due to slippery road. The car was towed in a body shop and the mechanic told me that the front tires were installed incorrectly because my tires were directional. The left front tire should be in the right front and vice versa. I did not install the tires but a reputable shop in Calgary.

Do I need to call the shop that installed my tires or just go for my insurance? This is my first time to have an accident.

Additional info: The accident happened in BC and my car is now in Vancouver.

Thanks.

kevie88
12-28-2010, 04:05 PM
Unless the tire failed I'd say you're pretty much on your own in this case.

Muji
12-28-2010, 04:24 PM
Name the shop.

Zewind
12-28-2010, 04:45 PM
Call Your Insurance company - advise them of the tires.

I personally would not call the Shop because they will just deny any wrong doing. You wont be able to get 100% off but it could help.

Tik-Tok
12-28-2010, 04:55 PM
Originally posted by Zewind
Call Your Insurance company - advise them of the tires.

I personally would not call the Shop because they will just deny any wrong doing. You wont be able to get 100% off but it could help.

I would call the shop to let them know one of their employee's is an idiot, but as said, they may just deny it all, and you wouldn;t be able to prove anything.

rage2
12-28-2010, 05:05 PM
Walmart and Canadian Tire are notorious for installing directional tires backwards. With that being said, running a directional tire backwards has very little effect on performance, even in rain/snow. If anything, it'll just wear more.

Even if it was proven that the tires were installed backwards, that's not the cause of your accident, and the shop would be 0% responsible.