PDA

View Full Version : Jury Duty

smokedog
01-02-2011, 12:39 AM
I got a letter in the mail to be summoned for jury selection. I'm a student, so is there a way I can excused from jury duty? Or since I'm a student I'm automatically not qualified to become a juror member?

SkittleFreak
01-02-2011, 12:57 AM
Call the number provided and ask them?

Clever
01-02-2011, 01:38 AM
Just went through this recently, call the number, but you can also show up and right before selection they will give you a chance to speak to the judge and you can explain your situation, that is if you get chosen to be selected.

Muji
01-02-2011, 02:13 AM
Vote and that is what happens, you get on a list. Tell the judge you are a Taoist and as such you find no fault with anyone.

DGill
01-02-2011, 02:45 AM
Originally posted by Clever
Just went through this recently, call the number, but you can also show up and right before selection they will give you a chance to speak to the judge and you can explain your situation, that is if you get chosen to be selected. Speak to the judge and say that you have exams or something going on and they will excuse you :thumbsup:

dandia89
01-02-2011, 02:47 AM
my friend got chosen by this, and he doesn't want to do it purely because of school. i think it'd be so interesting, but maybe i watch too much tv

FraserB
01-02-2011, 02:51 AM
I'll go in your place.

V6-BoI
01-02-2011, 03:11 AM
I got summoned twice when I was in school. I replied and said I had too hectic of a school schedule around the summon date and got exempt for both times.

J-hop
01-02-2011, 12:32 PM
Originally posted by Muji
Vote and that is what happens, you get on a list. Tell the judge you are a Taoist and as such you find no fault with anyone.

it is our duty as citizens, its not some telemarketing list, if you don't like it, go live somewhere else, simple as that.