PDA

View Full Version : Sigma 30mm F1.4

KISS_ME
01-03-2011, 01:56 PM
Anyone have an opinion on this lens? My friend in Hong Kong picked one of these up new for~$300 Canadian. Im wondering if i should pick one up too since it's kinda cheap.

Reviews online say i would be better of with the canon 35mm but considering the price i listed above would you still go for the canon? Im just a casual photographer but i've always wanted a larger aperture lens for low light photography. The other option i was thinking was the 50mm 1.8 but i dont mind spending the extra buck to get the job done right.

Mitsu3000gt
01-03-2011, 02:22 PM
The Sigma 30/1.4 is a great lens IF you get a good copy. There is more than usual sample variation with that lens (and with most 3rd party ultra wide aperture lenses). I personally wouldn't buy a third party lens from somewhere I couldn't return it. Some people go through 2 or 3 lenses before getting a good one. If you do get a bad copy, you could send it to Sigma for them to try fix it for you, but I don't know how that would work with a Hong Kong warranty. $300 is cheap for that lens but it would still be a bit of a gamble IMO.

KISS_ME
01-03-2011, 02:27 PM
I dont know too much about Sigma other then them being a third party vendor. What do you mean by sample variation? what kinda problems can i experience??

I thought all these lenses are mass produced so you should be expecting the same product from the beginning of the production line to the end.

Mitsu3000gt
01-03-2011, 02:39 PM
Originally posted by KISS_ME
I dont know too much about Sigma other then them being a third party vendor. What do you mean by sample variation? what kinda problems can i experience??

I thought all these lenses are mass produced so you should be expecting the same product from the beginning of the production line to the end.