PDA

View Full Version : Accident question.

Ergo-Sun-Tzu
01-14-2011, 02:52 PM
So I got in an accident today.
Exchanged insurance.
So this is my first time getting into an accident. How will this all proceed? What action should I take? I kinda of destroyed his left light.

D. Dub
01-14-2011, 02:59 PM
First of all, don't go through insurance if you don't need to. Repairing the other car might be less or equal to your deductible.

How much is the damage to the other car?

Kloubek
01-14-2011, 03:02 PM
If the damage is over a grand, you need to file a police report.

(Has it changed to 2 grand yet?)

spikerS
01-14-2011, 03:14 PM
Originally posted by Kloubek
If the damage is over a grand, you need to file a police report.

(Has it changed to 2 grand yet?)

I think it has, but don't quote me on that.

Tomaz
01-14-2011, 03:19 PM
The steps that I take after being sure everyone does not need medical attention:

Be sure to exchange all needed information and contact information. At this time, arrange for transportation/towing if needed. Usually if a tow truck is needed, police need to be informed of the accident (403.266.1234). Sometimes they will just take info over the phone to file a report later, sometimes a cruiser shows up to help.

I contact my insurance broker immediately after to inform them that there was a collision. I let them know that I will be paying out of pocket, or that I am making a claim. They will usually tell you how to proceed from there.

If needed, I swing by a police station to file a report and get an accident sticker. (if not provided earlier)

Finally, I let the insurance company handle everything (if making claim) or I inform the insurance company of everything I am doing with documented proof (if paying out-of-pocket).

Edit: