PDA

View Full Version : Thinking of Engineering..

SkittleFreak
02-01-2011, 04:16 PM
I'm thinking of becoming an Engineer. Looking into Software Engineer at UofC. But not exactly sure yet. Anyone in that field? Or other engineering fields that you could tell me about?

Phenix
02-01-2011, 04:23 PM
I'm a mech eng. Run away from eng while you can.

Disoblige
02-01-2011, 04:39 PM
It's fun when you're in 4th year lol.

Because you see the light! Hopefully it's the light of the end of tunnel, not the other light. ;)

kaput
02-01-2011, 05:03 PM

ExtraSlow
02-01-2011, 05:08 PM
I'm an engineer, and I'm glad daily that I choise this career path.

as for listing types of engineers, it's pretty much any industry.
Anywhere you find pipes, pumps, machines or chemicals, there are engineers. Anywhere you make something dirty, or clean something up.

Maybe think about the type of problems you like to solve. What activities do you enjoy in your spare time?

Skyline_Addict
02-01-2011, 05:17 PM
Surviving the first 2 years is the biggest trick. Be prepared to sacrafice your social life to do it. It's all good once you get an intership done and are in 4th year!

Sasuke_Kensai
02-01-2011, 05:29 PM
Going through school and a few years, I always hear people say, "Everyone asks me what an engineer does, and I never know what to tell them."

Get very good answers to this before taking the plunge - not with regards to schooling, but rather the career afterwards. If you know any engineers who are working, ask them everything you can think of - I find there is a lot more 'business/management' to it than I first thought coming out of HS, which isn't fully to my taste. Of course that won't apply to everyone, but it's still something I would research.

SkittleFreak
02-01-2011, 05:40 PM
Well after looking into school, engineer does somewhat fit my lifestyle.
For what I know of it at least.
I do enjoy computers and the likes, hence why I was looking into software engineer.