PDA

View Full Version : Yet another Alberta Oil rig thread

bitteeinbit
02-10-2011, 09:12 PM
Hi,

There seems to be quite a few people here from out west who work in the oil fields. I was hoping someone could give me current info about what the job situation is there right now as a leasehand working on oil rigs. From reading a few recent threads on the subject, it seems job prospects at the moment are not that great.

Basically, I want to gather up enough money to buy a house. My current job pays around 3000$ after taxes. I have a university degree (non-related field), I'm a hard worker and I can easily endure hardship (military) don't do drugs etc.

However, I want to make sure enough money is possible to make it worth my time (away from home, flight, long hours etc). For it to be worth my time and effort, I figure I would have to clear 5000$ (4000$ would be the bare minimum whereas 6000$ would be ideal, but I think that's a little unrealistic at an entry-level position). Is that kind of money possible if one has no experience in the oil industry and works as a labourer (leasehand, roughneck)?

So, what is the current situation really like? Are my expectations outdated? Is clearing 5000-6000$/month possible? I originally wanted to head over now-ish, but people tell me the thaw is coming soon so there's no point. So I'm now wondering if heading over in late-April/early-May to do my courses (H2SAlive etc) and apply at a bunch of places would be a better idea? Or would I end up spending money and time waiting for a call back because no one is hiring eager but inexperienced people? Looking at http://careers.infooil.com it seems like some low-level jobs are available, but judging from some posts it seems like it isn't so rosy nowadays over there. Is May too early/too late to head over there?

I know I've bombarded you guys with lot's of questions, but any help is greatly appreciated.

RecoilS14
02-10-2011, 11:40 PM