PDA

View Full Version : Yeaaaa another camera question

Freeskier
02-21-2011, 02:42 AM
I've finally found my broke ass a job, doing fisheries observing for dfo here in bc. So, after years of being a broke student I can start to buy things for me! A camera is super high on the list. But, as I'm still poor, a used one seems like the best bet. A couple buddies of mine shoot the Nikon d200 and recommended it to me as a decent used body. As an intermediate beginner should I look at somehting like this? or something newer and eat the cost right away. Can anyone help?

Mitsu3000gt
02-21-2011, 03:08 AM
Well what's your budget? What's most important to you in a camera?

The D200 is a spectacular body, but it was announced in November of 2005 so it was out before all the crazy high ISO performers were available. Above ISO 640 or so it starts to get pretty noisy. On the plus side, it has a great AF system, pro build quality, and some people still insist it has some of the best base ISO image quality in a crop sensor. It's a very well featured body.

All that said, something like a D300 is a night and day better cam, and used ones can be had for well under $1,000 (especially now that the D300s is out and D400 coming this Summer) if the pro DX type camera is what you're after.

Without knowing more about what you want to take pictures of and your budget it will be difficult to do much more than make fairly general comments.

Freeskier
02-21-2011, 02:48 PM