PDA

View Full Version : Parents bought a foreclosure in Vegas- good idea??

rinny
03-12-2011, 12:03 PM
My parents put an offer in on a foreclosure condo in Las Vegas. The area is Henderson- one of the few recommended areas of Las Vegas. I suppose its similar to an Airdrie for Vegas.

The condo is in a gated complex, two story buildings but ground level condo. 2 bedroom, 2 bath, granite counters and reasonably nice inside. Complex has a pool, games room, and volleyball court.

Their offer was 41k from a list of 44.9k. The bank countered yesterday with 44k, they were okay with that price and countered with a slightly longer closing date. Essentially the deal is accepted.

They're aiming to rent it out. They took out a HELOC to buy it, paying $100/mo for interest payments.

Here's an idea of the complex, another company rents out a few apartments/condos in the complex:
http://www.apartmentguide.com/apartments/Nevada/Henderson/Solevita/4967/

Im no expert at American real estate, but could anyone realistically look to these condos to drop in price, further from what they are? I was hesitant to be enthused about this as I can see Vegas tourism numbers are slipping, and their whole economy is tourism-based. However the price is small, and if their plan works, I cant see a bad side to it?

Best part is: Its located on Ramrod Avenue!

broken_legs
03-12-2011, 12:20 PM
Originally posted by rinny

Im no expert at American real estate, but could anyone realistically look to these condos to drop in price, further from what they are?

Yes. Case Shiller index is clearly showing a second dip in housing. Local markets of course have their own drivers, but in general housing should be weak to negative in the US for many years to come.

ALSO

They need to hire a lawyer immediately

The main problem now is that many of the evictions and forclosures perpetrated by banks were ILLEGAL.