PDA

View Full Version : Question for the Geologists

badatusrnames
03-31-2011, 04:01 PM
I'm looking at a regular core report, and would appreciate some help in deciphering some abbreviations:

-FD:HRTL FRAC. I'm assuming horizontal fracture for the second bit, but confirming this would be pretty important. I'm unsure what the FD means.
-SH LAM. I'm guessing shale lamination?
-CALC. Calcite? Calcareous?
-PYR. Pyrite?
-SHY. Shaley?

Any insight is much appreciated! I'm just a dumb engineer.

msommers
03-31-2011, 04:04 PM
FD - Full Diameter core vs. plug analysis
Calc - calcareous

Everyone else looks fine.

badatusrnames
03-31-2011, 04:07 PM
Originally posted by msommers
FD - Full Diameter core vs. plug analysis
Calc - calcareous

Everyone else looks fine.

If there's one thing you can count on, it's a geologist willing to talk about geology with others.

Thanks a lot!

Crymson
04-01-2011, 11:06 AM
Originally posted by badatusrnames

If there's one thing you can count on, it's a geologist willing to talk about geology with others.

Thanks a lot!

Lol. Always true. Throw in excessive ammounts of alcohol and you have the full geologist experience.

msommers
04-01-2011, 11:27 AM
It's probably our inner nerd surfacing. Which is exacerbated when the liquor comes out :rofl:

Not to perpetuate the stigma, but as an aside, if you have horizontal fractures (natural or induced from coring) and your core analysis has it, it's the reason why your K90 is much higher than your Kvert (permeability directions).

badatusrnames
04-01-2011, 12:13 PM
Not to perpetuate the stigma, but as an aside, if you have horizontal fractures (natural or induced from coring) and your core analysis has it, it's the reason why your K90 is much higher than your Kvert (permeability directions).

Edit, hold on, wrong picture.

badatusrnames
04-01-2011, 12:27 PM
I didn't see much permeability anisotropy between Kmax and K90:

http://i.imgur.com/J6NoF.png

Here's K90 and Kv:

http://i.imgur.com/jEfsP.png