PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts on different helmets?

Ihatetowait
04-04-2011, 10:24 PM
I'm a beginner to bikes and already started the too cool school, I have a bike lined up along the lines of something I want to ride from a friend (84 honda magna v30). Kijiji seems like a great place to buy cheaper bike clothing like armor and jackets, but where does a guy go for a good quality fair priced helmet?

Looking on blackfoot motorsports site it is mind boggling how far the price varies depending on how fancy the helmet is. All I really need is a full face (with a jaw that slides up or not) for a good price without sacrificing quality and safety.

- What are the drawbacks of the cheaper full face (sub 200$) compared to the 300+ ones?
- Where is a good place to go to find what I am looking for?

The bike cost 1500, I don't need an 900 dollar helmet that has fans and bluetooth!

theken
04-04-2011, 10:53 PM
I can sell you an icon helmet for 200. Has skulls and demons and shit on it, I never really wore it, I'm more into my arai helmet

Supa Dexta
04-04-2011, 10:56 PM
A 150 dollar HJC will do you fine.. I've had some that are just as quiet and nice fitting as my arai's and stuff. I still rock a few HJCs from time to time.. But I've got like a dozen helmets kicking around now. :nut:

GQBalla
04-04-2011, 10:58 PM
higher end more expensive helmets tend to have more features.

sound deadening
how light the helmet is
memory foam
obviously brand name
dot and snell approved.

any helmet that is DOT approved will be fine.

just depends how picky you are.

some helmet are easier to say change visors etc

Ihatetowait
04-04-2011, 11:03 PM
I've heard its a bad idea to buy used helmets since they tend to fit one person - and you never know if its been dropped or not. A dropped helmet is pretty much garbage, no?

Dexta - where do you find a basic helmet like that brand new?