PDA

View Full Version : Costco Gas. Good or bad?

Kaos
04-18-2011, 09:01 AM
Just found out they opened up a Costco gas station up in Beacon Hill and I filled up premium at $1.19. Does anyone know the quality of gas Costco uses?

Discuss....

dj_rice
04-18-2011, 09:06 AM
Taken from a NASOIC thread

Originally posted by JewPac42
I say dont use it. It is generic gas. Would you fill up at an Arco or a Beacon, or a Safeway? I sure as hell wouldn't. The gas is not as high quality and will leave more deposits in you fuel system.

Actually, places like Costco, Kmart and Walmart all buy their gas from manufactures like BP-Amoco, Shell, Citgo and so on. It doesn't matter who. The retailers, Costco, etc... just buy it based on who sells it for the cheaper price. So one week you might be pumping at Costco and get Amoco or the next week get Shell gas. It doesn't matter. It's the same wherever you go.

I've been pumping from Superstore in both of my cars for 10+ years now and my cars have been fine.

Tik-Tok
04-18-2011, 09:07 AM
Go in and ask them who their supplier is. If they don't know, ask for the phone/email of someone who does. The Co-Op by my house (used to) get their fuel from Shell, but it was without the Shell additives, it was decent stuff, but I wouldn't fill up without knowing first.

Rhystar
04-18-2011, 09:09 AM
damn, you found my secret gas station, ive been filling premium there for a little while due to gas prices :facepalm:,
i used to only fill at petro and i havent seen any huge change in performance.
Their gas isnt the greatest but it also isnt the worst... like centex and the other "cheap" ones.

schocker
04-18-2011, 09:09 AM
Originally posted by Kaos
Just found out they opened up a Costco gas station up in Beacon Hill and I filled up premium at $1.19. Does anyone know the quality of gas Costco uses?

Discuss....