PDA

View Full Version : Financial Planner or Insurance?

TsMortgages
05-03-2011, 10:54 AM
Hey guys

So I am looking at making a career change. I currently work in sales and have experience in Finance. I am looking to get into either Financial Planning or being an Insurance broker.

Does anyone have any insight or experience they could share with me in these industries?

skandalouz_08
05-03-2011, 12:12 PM
I currently work for Sun Life as an Advisor and do both insurance and investments.

As a Financial Planner you'll more than likely do both sides of the picture, which company you go with will ultimately determine which one you focus on more, although there are ways to focus on both.

For example Sun Life is geared towards insurance and has been forever, they are trying to change their focus to have more investment influence, but as with any big corporation, it takes time and won't happen right away. Investors Group on the other hand is very investment focused and while they want you to have your insurance license as well, it isn't mandatory when you start there and can partner up with someone who sells insurance.

I could write pages of stories comparing the two and talking about the career. Shoot me a PM if you have direct questions and I'd be more than happy to answer.

2000_SI
05-09-2011, 12:40 PM
I used to work as an advisor with Edward Jones, so I did both investments and insurance, although a majority of my business was investment/financial planning focused.

Can you share any more as to where you are looking at working? Will you be given a book to grow, or do you have to start from scratch? What is your background? Have you done prospecting before? At Jones it was door-to-door, which while effective, was very draining, both physically and emotionally.

Do you have any interest in either area? It would certainly help keep motivation up when the days get long/tough.