PDA

View Full Version : Automotive Detailing Job, what to expect?

Twin_Cam_Turbo
06-13-2011, 09:16 AM
Hey guys, so I recently graduated from AST at SAIT and I just accepted a job at Crowfoot BMW as a Automotive Detailer to get my foot into the door of the automotive industry. I have never worked as a detailer before, but I know attention to detail is key. Anyone who has worked as one? Can you fill me in on what specifics I should be doing, other than cleaning everything, any tips?

TIA

derek_k
06-13-2011, 12:03 PM
Cleaning cars is what to expect, don't overlook anything, if you can see it the customer can see it, make sure you get every little corner. New cars is the easiest cause they are new

bituerbo
06-13-2011, 12:09 PM
Absorb as much about the industry/job as you can. Never stop learning, you should be preparing to go into business on your own.

Abeo
06-13-2011, 01:54 PM
Expect wet feet. Cheap tint goes purple if cleaned with ammonia-based window cleaners. Use vinyl renewer on dash before cleaning the windshield. Pretty much everything scratches paint; keep your wash mitt and drying towels clean (and maybe keep a junky set for junky cars). Don't steal change (should be obvious), and check under the seats for stuff that collects there. Make friends with the painters/preppers, as there is overlap. Turn on the blower vents on hot/cold on all settings to blow out dust or crap that accumulates.

These are off the top of my head... but hang around some detailing forums, and you'll get a bunch of tips on how to clean well in the fastest time.

M.alex
06-13-2011, 02:57 PM
Expect to "ruin" customers' clearcoat (i.e., micromarr the living piss out of it). No dealership will invest in the supplies needed to properly wash a vehicle (e.g., my microfibers cost $15/towel ... no dealership will pay for that!), to properly detail a car (most have 1-2 pads for a buffer and that's it .... i've got about 40!), nor will they give you the time to do a proper job.